Waiting on the Lord

I understand the importance of living a life of simplicity before the Lord, of not allowing greed for worldly possessions to overcome us. Jesus tells us in Matthew 6:19 not to store up for ourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy, and where thieves break in and steal. He told the man who asked about salvation in Luke 10:21 to sell all that he had and give to the poor. And later in Luke 10:23, Jesus tells us how hard it is for those who are wealthy to enter the kingdom of Heaven. Love of money, we are told, is the root of all evil (1 Tim 6:10.)

So with this knowledge I attempt to make a home for my family. Yet I struggle because all of my ideas and dreams of a lovely, warm and safe home, include a wonderful house filled with beautiful things.

So my question is this: how in the world can I ever, as a homemaker, make a home that is everything I dream it to be and yet please the Lord and follow what he tells me to do? Must I choose between a life where I have little so that others might have enough, and a life where I have what I want and forfeit my salvation?

I am not sure that life is so black and white as this, but if it is, wouldn’t s many people be getting it wrong? No wonder so many people turn from their faith and serve other gods. Other gods such a money, sex, and power don’t tell us that we can’t have what we want, no, it’s the opposite. These other gods tell us to indulge and take all we can get. If the Lord truly desires for us to never have more than we need so that others can have enough, then there is far more wrong in this world than most would think.

All that I am sure of is that I desire to serve my King more that I desire to have a house. So in that knowledge I sacrifice my dreams, perhaps never to have them back, and completely surrender my desires to the Lord. My future, my husband and kids, along with my hopes and dreams are His. What remains are my questions. And as I wait for discernment, I meditate on the verse in Psalm 127:1, “Unless the Lord build the house, they labor in vain who build.” Because I know the Lord assures me in Isaiah 30:15, “by waiting and by calm you shall be saved in quiet and in trust your strength lies.”

Leave a Reply

